Article Text

other Versions

PDF
Raised Interleukin-10 is an Indicator of Poor Outcome and Enhanced Systemic Inflammation in Patients with Acute Coronary Syndrome
  1. Anders Malarstig (anders.malarstig{at}ki.se)
  1. Uppsala University, Sweden
    1. Per Eriksson (per.eriksson{at}ki.se)
    1. Karolinska Institute, Sweden
      1. Anders Hamsten (anders.hamsten{at}ki.se)
      1. Karolinska Institute, Sweden
        1. Bertil Lindahl (bertil.lindahl{at}ucr.uu.se)
        1. Uppsala University, Sweden
          1. Lars Wallentin (lars.wallentin{at}ucr.uu.se)
          1. Uppsala University, Sweden
            1. Agneta Siegbahn (agneta.siegbahn{at}akademiska.se)
            1. Uppsala University, Sweden

              Abstract

              Objective: To re-evaluate the relationship between plasma IL-10 concentration at hospital admission and outcome and to investigate the impact of single nucleotide polymorphisms (SNP) in the IL10 gene in patients with non-ST elevation acute coronary syndrome (ACS).

              Design: Determination of IL-10 plasma concentrations and genotyping of SNPs in the IL10 gene in a prospective trial of patients with ACS and in a group of healthy controls.

              Patients: 3179 patients in the Fragmin and Fast Revascularisation During Instability in Coronary Artery Disease II trial and 397 healthy controls.

              Main outcome measures: Mortality and incidence of myocardial infarction at 12 months.

              Results: The median and interquartile ranges of IL-10 were 0.8 (0.5 - 1.0) pg/ml in healthy controls and 1.1 (0.7 - 1.9) pg/ml in patients (p<0.001). In patients, IL-10 predicted a crude risk increase of death/MI, with the highest risk observed in the fourth quartile (1.7 (1.2 - 2.3) (adjusted odds ratio, 95 % confidence interval). Adjustment for common risk indicators, including c-reactive protein and interleukin-6, weakened the association to a non-significant level. The 1170 CC genotype weakly predicted increased plasma concentrations of IL-10 in patients (p=0.04) and in controls (p=0.03), which was consistent with the modest association of this allelic variant with coronary disease (p=0.01).

              Conclusion: In contrast with some previous reports, we conclude that IL-10 reflects a pro-inflammatory state in patients with ACS and therefore suggest that IL-10 is an equally effective biomarker for the risk prediction of future cardiovascular events as other markers of systemic inflammation.

              • acute coronary syndrome
              • biomarker
              • inflammation
              • interleukin-10
              • polymorphism

              Statistics from Altmetric.com

              Request permissions

              If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.