Article Text

other Versions

PDF
Association between circulating oxidized low-density lipoprotein and fibro-calcific remodeling of the aortic valve in aortic stenosis
  1. Claude Cote (crhlcco{at}hermes.ulaval.ca)
  1. Laval Hospital, Canada
    1. Philippe Pibarot (philippe.pibarot{at}med.ulaval.ca)
    1. Laval Hospital, Canada
      1. Jean-Pierre Despres (jean-pierre.despres{at}crhl.ulaval.ca)
      1. Laval Hospital, Canada
        1. Dania Mohty (dania.mohty{at}crhl.ulaval.ca)
        1. Laval Hospital, Canada
          1. Amelie Cartier (amelie.cartier{at}crhl.ulaval.ca)
          1. Lavla Hospital, Canada
            1. Benoit Arsenault (benoit.arsenault{at}crhl.ulaval.ca)
            1. Laval Hospital, Canada
              1. Christian Couture (christian.couture{at}ssss.gouv.qc.ca)
              1. Laval Hospital, Canada
                1. Patrick Mathieu (patrick.mathieu{at}chg.ulaval.ca)
                1. Laval Hospital, Canada

                  Abstract

                  Introduction Aortic stenosis (AS) is the most common valvular heart disease in westernized societies. AS is a disease process akin to atherosclerosis in which calcification and tissue remodeling play a crucial role. In patients with moderate/severe AS, we sought to determine if the remodeling process would be in relationship with transvalvular gradients and circulating oxidized low-density lipoprotein (ox-LDL) levels.

                  Methods In 105 patients with AS, the aortic valve and blood plasma were collected at the time of valve replacement surgery. The degree of valve tissue remodeling was assess using a scoring system (Score: 1-4) and the amount of calcium within the valve cusps was determined. Standard plasma lipid profile as well as the size of LDL particles and the plasma level of circulating ox-LDL (4E6 antibody) were determined.

                  Results After adjustment for covariables, aortic remodeling score was significantly related to transvalvular gradients measured by Doppler-echocardiography before surgery. Patients with higher valve remodeling score had higher circulating ox-LDL levels (score 2: 27.3 ± 2.6 U/L; score 3: 32.2 ± 2.3 U/L; score 4: 38.3±2.3 U/L; p=0.02). After correction for age, gender, hypertension and HDL-C, the plasma level of ox-LDL remained significantly associated with the aortic valve remodeling score (p=0.0009). The plasma level of ox-LDL was significantly associated with LDL-C (r=0.40; p<0.0001), apoB (r=0.59; p<0.0001), triglyceride (r=0.39; p<0.0001), Apo A-I (r=0.23; p=0.01) and cholesterol in small (<255 Å) LDL particles (r=0.22; p=0.02). After correction for covariables, circulating ox-LDL levels remained significantly associated with apoB (p=0.0003) and triglyceride (p=0.01) levels.

                  Conclusion Increased level of circulating ox-LDL is associated with worse fibro-calcific remodeling of valvular tissue in AS. It remains to be determined whether circulating ox-LDL is a risk marker for a highly atherogenic profile and/or a circulating molecule which is actively involved in the pathogenesis of calcific aortic valve disease.

                  • Aortic remodeling
                  • Aortic stenosis
                  • ox-LDL

                  Statistics from Altmetric.com

                  Request permissions

                  If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.

                  Linked Articles