Article Text

other Versions

PDF
Efficacy and safety of therapeutic strategies after coronary stenting in chronically anticoagulated patients according to thromboembolic risk stratification. THE MUSICA STUDY.
  1. Antonia Sambola (asambola{at}yahoo.com)
  1. Hospital Vall d'Hebron, Spain
    1. Ignacio Ferreira-Gonzalez (iferreira{at}vhebron.net)
    1. Hospital Vall d'Hebron, Spain
      1. Joan Angel (jangel{at}vhebron.net)
      1. Hospital Vall d'Hebron, Spain
        1. Fernando Alfonso (falf{at}hotmail.com)
        1. Hospital Vall d'Hebron, Spain
          1. Jaume Maristany (jmaristany{at}bellvitge.es)
          1. Hospital Universitari Bellvitge, Spain
            1. Oriol Rodriguez (oriolrodriguez{at}hotmail.com)
            1. Hospital Universitari Can Ruti, Spain
              1. Jose Ramon Lopez-Minguez (jrlminguez{at}telefonica.net)
              1. Hospital Universitario Infanta Cristina, Spain
                1. Javier Zueco (heizgj{at}humv.es)
                1. Hospital Universitario Marques de Valdecilla, Spain
                  1. Francisco Fernandez-Aviles (fernandezaviles{at}secardiologia.es)
                  1. Hospital Universitario Gregorio Marañon, Spain
                    1. Alberto San Roman (sanroman{at}icicor.com)
                    1. ICICOR.Hospital Universitario Valladolid, Spain
                      1. Bernard Prendergast (bernard.prendergast{at}orh.nhs.uk)
                      1. Wythenshawe Hospital, United Kingdom
                        1. David Garcia-Dorado (dgdorado{at}vhebron.net)
                        1. Hospital Universitari Vall d'Hebron, Spain
                          1. Vicente Mainar (mainar_vic{at}gva.es)
                          1. Hospital Universitario Alicante, Spain
                            1. Pilar Tornos (ptornos{at}vhebron.net)
                            1. Hospital Vall d'Hebron, Spain

                              Abstract

                              Objectives: 1) To identify the therapeutic regimens used at discharge in patients on oral anticoagulant therapy (OAT) who undergo stenting (PCI-S) and 2) to assess the safety and the efficacy associated with different therapeutic regimens according to the thromboembolic risk.

                              Design: A prospective multicenter registry.

                              Setting: In hospital, after discharge, and follow-up by telephone call.

                              Methods: We included patients who underwent PCI-S between November 2003 and June 2006 from nine catheterization laboratories of tertiary care teaching hospitals in Spain and one from the United Kingdom.

                              Results: 405 patients (328 male/71 female; 71±9 y) on OAT were included. Three therapeutic regimens were identified at discharge: triple therapy (TT), any anticoagulant (AC) plus double antiplatelet therapy (DAT), 278 patients (68.6%); AC and a single antiplatelet (AC+AT), 46 (11.4%) and (DAT), 81 (20%). At 6 months, patients on TT showed the greatest rate of bleeding events. No patients on DAT at low thromboembolic risk presented a bleeding event (14.8% on TT, 11.8% on AC+AT and 0% on DAT, p=0.033) or cardiovascular event (6.7% on TT, 0% on AC+AT and 0% on DAT, p=0.126). The combination of AC+AT showed the worst rate of adverse events in the whole cohort, especially in patients at moderate-high thromboembolic risk.

                              Conclusions: In patients on OAT, TT was the most commonly used regimen after PCI-S. DAT was associated with the lowest rate of bleeding events and a similar efficacy than TT in patients at low thromboembolic risk. TT should probably be restricted to patients at moderate-high thromboembolic risk.

                              Statistics from Altmetric.com

                              Request permissions

                              If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.