Article Text

other Versions

PDF
Preoperative 6 Minute Walk Test Adds Prognostic Information to Euroscore in Patients Undergoing Aortic Valve Replacement
  1. Diego Perez de Arenaza (diego.perezdearenaza{at}hospitalitaliano.org.ar)
  1. Hospital Italiano of Buenos Aires, Argentina
    1. John Pepper (j.pepper{at}rbht.nhs.uk)
    1. Royal Brompton Hospital, United Kingdom
      1. Belinda Lees (b.lees{at}rbht.nhs.uk)
      1. Royal Brompton Hospital, United Kingdom
        1. Fernando Rubinstein (fernando.rubinstein{at}hospitalitaliano.org.ar)
        1. Hospital Italiano of Buenos Aires, Argentina
          1. Fiona Nugara (f.nugara{at}rbht.nhs.uk)
          1. Royal Brompton Hospital, United Kingdom
            1. Michael Roughton (m.roughton{at}imperial.ac.uk)
            1. Royal Brompton Hospital, United Kingdom
              1. Marek Jasinski (marekjas{at}hotmail.com)
              1. Department Of Cardiac Surgery, Medical University Of Silesia, Poland
                1. Oscar Bazzino (oscar.bazzino{at}hospitalitaliano.org.ar)
                1. Hospital Italiano of Buenos Aires, Argentina
                  1. Marcus Flather (m.flather{at}rbht.nhs.uk)
                  1. Royal Brompton Hospital, United Kingdom

                    Abstract

                    Aims: We investigated the additive prognostic value of the 6MWT to Euroscore in patients with severe aortic stenosis undergoing aortic valve replacement (AVR).

                    Methods and results: 208 patients with severe AS underwent six minute walk test (6MWT) prior to aortic valve replacement (AVR), as part of a randomized trial (ASSERT) comparing stented and stentless aortic valves.

                    Clinical follow-up was available for 200 patients up to 12 months. The rate of death, myocardial infarction (MI) or stroke (time to first event) was 13% (n=14) in patients walking <300 m compared to 4% (n=4) in those who walked ≥300 m (p= 0.017). When rate of death, MI or stroke by Euroscore risk was stratified by 6 minute walking distance, the 6MWT added prognostic information. In a Cox regression analysis 6MWT distance was the only variable retained as an independent predictor of the composite outcome of death, MI or stroke at 12 months (HR 0.28 95% CI 0.09-0.85, p=0.025).

                    Conclusions: The 6MWT is safe and feasible to carry out in patients with severe aortic stenosis prior to AVR, and provides potentially important functional and prognostic information to clinical assessment and the Euroscore risk score.

                    Statistics from Altmetric.com

                    Request permissions

                    If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.

                    Linked Articles