Article Text

other Versions

PDF
Optical Coherence Tomography Assessment Of The Acute Effects Of Stent Implantation On The Vessel Wall. A Systematic Quantitative Approach
  1. Nieves Gonzalo (nieves_gonzalo{at}yahoo.es)
  1. Thoraxcenter, Erasmus MC, Erasmus University, Netherlands
    1. Patrick W Serruys (p.w.j.c.serruys{at}erasmusmc.nl)
    1. Thoraxcenter, Erasmus MC, Erasmus University, Netherlands
      1. Takayuki Okamura (t.okamura.nl{at}gmail.com)
      1. Thoraxcenter, Erasmus MC, Erasmus University, Netherlands
        1. Zhu Jun Shen (shenzhujun{at}hotmail.com)
        1. Thoraxcenter, Erasmus MC, Erasmus University, Netherlands
          1. Yoshinobu Onuma (yoshinobuonuma{at}gmail.com)
          1. Thoraxcenter, Erasmus MC, Erasmus University, Netherlands
            1. Hector M Garcia-Garcia (hgarcia{at}cardialysis.nl)
            1. Thoraxcenter, Erasmus MC, Erasmus University, Netherlands
              1. Giovanna Sarno (giovannasarno{at}yahoo.it)
              1. Thoraxcenter, Erasmus MC, Erasmus University, Netherlands
                1. Carl Schultz (cschultz{at}doctors.org.uk)
                1. Thoraxcenter, Erasmus MC, Erasmus University, Netherlands
                  1. Robert J van Geuns (r.vangeuns{at}erasmusmc.nl)
                  1. Thoraxcenter, Erasmus MC, Erasmus University, Netherlands
                    1. Jurgen Ligthart (j.ligthart{at}erasmusmc.nl)
                    1. Thoraxcenter, Erasmus MC, Erasmus University, Netherlands
                      1. Evelyn Regar (e.regar{at}erasmusmc.nl)
                      1. Thoraxcenter, Erasmus MC, Erasmus University, Netherlands

                        Abstract

                        Objective: To observe and characterise vessel injury post-stenting using optical coherence tomography (OCT), to propose a systematic OCT classification for periprocedural vessel trauma, to evaluate its frequency in stable vs unstable patients and to assess its clinical impact during the hospitalization period.

                        Setting: stenting causes vessel injury.

                        Design and interventions: All consecutive patients in whom OCT was performed after stent implantation were included in the study. Qualitative and quantitative assessment of, tissue prolapse, intrastent dissection and edge dissection were performed.

                        Results: Seventy-three patients (80 vessels) were analyzed. Tissue prolapse within the stented segment was visible in 78/80 vessels (97.5%). Median number of tissue prolapse sites was 8 [Interquartile (IQ) range 4-19], mean area 1.04±0.9 mm². Intrastent dissection flaps were visible in 69/80 vessels (86.2%) (median number 3 (IQ range1.25-6), maximum flap length 450±220 µm). Fifty-five out of 80 vessels (68.7%) showed dissection cavities (median number 2 (IQ range 0-4.75), maximum depth 340±170 µm). Edge dissection was visible in 20 vessels (mean length flap 744±439 µm).

                        The frequency of tissue prolapse or intrastent dissection was not different between stable and unstable patients (95.6vs100% p=0.5 for tissue prolapse, 91.1vs82.9% p=0.3 for intrastent dissection). There were no events during the hospitalization period.

                        Conclusions: OCT allows a detailed visualization of vessel injury post stent implantation and enables a systematic classification and quantification in vivo. In our study, frequency of tissue prolapse or intrastent dissections post-stenting was high, irrespective of the clinical presentation of the patients, and was not associated with clinical events during hospitalization.

                        Statistics from Altmetric.com

                        Request permissions

                        If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.

                        Linked Articles