Best Paper Award 2015

We are pleased to announce the winners and finalists for the Heart Best Paper Award in recognition of high quality and clinical impact.


Edward W Carlton, Louise Cullen, Martin Than, James Gamble, Ahmed Khattab, Kim Greaves
A novel diagnostic protocol to identify patients suitable for discharge after a single high-sensitivity troponin
Paper >>

Chun Shing Kwok, S Matthijs Boekholdt, Marleen A H Lentjes, Yoon K Loke, Robert N Luben, Jessica K Yeo, Nicholas J Wareham, Phyo K Myint, Kay-Tee Khaw
Habitual chocolate consumption and risk of cardiovascular disease among healthy men and women
Paper >>


Luciano Candilio, Abdul Malik, Cono Ariti, Matthew Barnard, Carmelo Di Salvo,David Lawrence, Martin Hayward, John Yap, Neil Roberts, Amir Sheikh, Shyam Kolvekar,Derek J Hausenloy, Derek M Yellon
Effect of remote ischaemic preconditioning on clinical outcomes in patients undergoing cardiac bypass surgery: a randomised controlled clinical trial
Paper >>

Wuxiang Xie, Gang Li, Dong Zhao, Xueqin Xie, Zaihua Wei, Wei Wang, Miao Wang,Guoxing Li, Wanru Liu, Jiayi Sun, Zhangrong Jia, Qian Zhang, Jing Liu
Relationship between fine particulate air pollution and ischaemic heart disease morbidity and mortality
Paper >>

Professor Otto presenting a certificate to Dr Shing Kwok at the ESC 2016 Congress




Sonia Bouri, Matthew James Shun-Shin, Graham D. Cole, Jamil Mayet and Darrel P. Francis
Meta-analysis of secure randomised controlled trials of ß-blockade to prevent perioperative death in non-cardiac surgery
Paper >>


Delphine Detaint, Hector I. Michelena, Vuyisile T. Nkomo, Alec Vahanian, Guillaume Jondeau and Maurice Enriquez Sarano
Aortic dilatation patterns and rates in adults with bicuspid aortic valves: a comparative study with Marfan syndrome and degenerative aortopathy
Paper >>

Maciej Tomaszewski, Christobelle White, Prashanth Patel, Nicholas Masca, Ravi Damani, Joanne Hepworth, Nilesh J. Samani, Pankaj Gupta, Webster Madira, Adrian Stanley and Bryan Williams
High rates of non-adherence to antihypertensive treatment revealed by high-performance liquid chromatography-tandem mass spectrometry urine analysis
Paper >>

Anne Marie Valente, Kimberlee Gauvreau, Gabriele Egidy Assenza, Sonya V. Babu-Narayan, Jenna Schreier, Michael A. Gatzoulis, Maarten Groenink, Ryo Inuzuka, Philip J. Kilner, Zeliha Koyak, Michael J. Landzberg, Barbara Mulder, Andrew J. Powell, Rachel Wald and Tal Geva
Contemporary predictors of death and sustained ventricular tachycardia in patients with repaired tetralogy of Fallot enrolled in the INDICATOR cohort
Paper >>