Table 1

Classification of coronary microvascular dysfunction

Coronary microvascular dysfunction (CMD)
Type 1Primary CMD in the absence of underlying myocardial disease or obstructive epicardial CAD
Type 2CMD in the presence of myocardial disease (eg, hypertrophic cardiomyopathy, hypertensive heart disease)
Type 3CMD in the presence of obstructive CAD (either stable CAD or acute coronary syndrome)
Type 4Iatrogenic CMD secondary to myocardial revascularisation
Type 5CMD following cardiac transplantation
  • CAD,┬ácoronary artery disease.