Best Research Paper Award

Each year the Heart editorial team selects the most meritorious research papers to receive the Heart Best Research Paper Award. Primary considerations are the relevance of the clinical question addressed by the research, the quality of the research study design and data presentation, and the interest generated by the paper among other researchers, clinical cardiologists and the general public.

We are pleased to announce the winner and finalists for the Heart Best Research Paper Award 2020 in recognition of high quality and clinical impact. The 2020 award is for the best research paper published in the journal in 2019.


Ralph Kwame Akyea, Joe Kai, Nadeem Qureshi, Barbara Iyen, Stephen F Weng
Sub-optimal cholesterol response to initiation of statins and future risk of cardiovascular disease
Paper >>


Ralph Maddison, Jonathan Charles Rawstorn, Ralph A H Stewart, Jocelyne Benatar, Robyn Whittaker, Anna Rolleston, Yannan Jiang, Lan Gao, Marj Moodie, Ian Warren, Andrew Meads, Nicholas Gant
Effects and costs of real-time cardiac telerehabilitation: randomised controlled non-inferiority trial
Paper >>

Weijian Huang, Lan Su, Shengjie Wu, Lei Xu, Fangyi Xiao, Xiaohong Zhou, Guangyun Mao, Pugazhendhi Vijayaraman, Kenneth A Ellenbogen
Long-term outcomes of His bundle pacing in patients with heart failure with left bundle branch block
Paper >>


2019 winner

Sean Lee Zheng, Fiona T. Chan, Adam A. Nabeebaccus, Ajay M. Shah, Theresa McDonagh, Darlington O. Okonko, Salma Ayis
Drug treatment effects on outcomes in heart failure with preserved ejection fraction: a systematic review and meta-analysis
Paper >>

2018 winner

Elizabeth Mostofsky, Martin Berg Johansen, Anne Tjønneland, Harpreet S. Chahal, Murray A. Mittleman, Kim Overvad
Chocolate intake and risk of clinically apparent atrial fibrillation: the Danish Diet, Cancer, and Health Study
Paper >>

2017 winner

Nicole K Valtorta, Mona Kanaan, Simon Gilbody, Sara Ronzi, Barbara Hanratty
Loneliness and social isolation as risk factors for coronary heart disease and stroke: systematic review and meta-analysis of longitudinal observational studies
Paper >>

2016 joint winners

Edward W Carlton, Louise Cullen, Martin Than, James Gamble, Ahmed Khattab, Kim Greaves
A novel diagnostic protocol to identify patients suitable for discharge after a single high-sensitivity troponin
Paper >>

Chun Shing Kwok, S Matthijs Boekholdt, Marleen A H Lentjes, Yoon K Loke, Robert N Luben, Jessica K Yeo, Nicholas J Wareham, Phyo K Myint, Kay-Tee Khaw
Habitual chocolate consumption and risk of cardiovascular disease among healthy men and women
Paper >>

2015 winner

Sonia Bouri, Matthew James Shun-Shin, Graham D. Cole, Jamil Mayet and Darrel P. Francis
Meta-analysis of secure randomised controlled trials of ß-blockade to prevent perioperative death in non-cardiac surgery
Paper >>